Certificate III in Individual Support (Specialising in Aged Care)

This qualification reflects the role of workers in the community and/or residential setting who follow an individualised plan to provide person-centred support to people who may require support due to ageing, disability or some other reason. Work involves using discretion and judgement in relation to individual support as well as taking responsibility for own outputs. Workers have a range of factual, technical and procedural knowledge, as well as some theoretical knowledge of the concepts and practices required to provide person-centred support.

To achieve this qualification, the candidate must have completed at least 120 hours of work as detailed in the Assessment Requirements of the units of competency.

Possible job opportunities
  • In Home Respite Worker
  • Nurse’s Aide
  • Community Access Coordinator
  • Planned activity assistant
  • Accommodation Support Worker
  • Care Service Employee
  • Community care worker
  • Food Services Deliverer
  • Disability Service Officer
  • Care assistant
  • Client Assistant
  • Care Worker
  • Community House Worker
  • Home care assistant

Qualifications list

  • 7 cores
  • 6 electives
Qualification units
Code Unit name Type
Cluster 1
CHCCCS015 Provide individualised support Core
CHCCCS023 Support independence and well being Core
HLTAAP001 Recognise healthy body systems Core
Cluster 2
CHCLEG001 Work legally and ethically Core
HLTWHS002 Follow safe work practices for direct client care Core
Cluster 3
CHCCOM005 Communicate and work in health or community services Core
CHCDIV001 Work with diverse people Core
Cluster 4
CHCCCS011 Meet personal support needs
  • Group A electives – AGEING specialisation
  • Group C electives – HOME AND COMMUNITY specialisation
CHCAGE001 Facilitate the empowerment of older people
  • Group A electives – AGEING specialisation
CHCAGE005 Provide support to people living with dementia Group A electives – AGEING specialisation
Cluster 5
CHCPAL001 Deliver care services using a palliative approach Group D electives - AGED CARE specialisation
Cluster 6
CHCDIS007 Facilitate the empowerment of people with Disability
  • Group B electives – DISABILITY specialisation
  • Group C electives – HOME AND COMMUNITY specialisation
  • Group D electives - AGED CARE specialisation
Cluster 7
HLTAID003 Provide first Aid Group D electives - AGED CARE specialisation

Cluster 7 is provided to allow students to upload their certificates as proof of completion of the HLTAID003 unit. Cluster 7 and the vocational placement packs will be included with any cluster purchase.

Additional units

  • HLTAID003 Provide First Aid
  • SITHCCC005 Prepare dishes using basic methods of cookery
  • SITHCCC018 Prepare food to meet special dietary requirements
  • BSBCUS301 Deliver and monitor service to customers
  • BSBINM201 Process and maintain workplace information
  • BSBWOR204 Use Business Technology
  • BSBWOR301 Organise personal work priorities and development

Find out more about our additional units

If you require any additional information, please contact our customer support team on 1300 554 100, or and we will be more than happy to assist you.

Qualifications list

Demo Didasko

Request a demo

See why Didasko are the industry leader in online learning. Request a demo today!

Request demo



News from the hospitality and business industries. Find out the latest in education.

Latest news



Didasko Learning Resources have a large library of units that can form your qualification.

Browse qualifications